04 July 2008

New Zealand Maori team to play Australia A

New Zealand Maori Coach Donny Stevenson and Assistant Coach Milton Haig have named the New Zealand Maori team for its final IRB Pacific Nations Cup match against Australia A at the Sydney Football Stadium, Sydney on Sunday 6 July.

1. Jacob Ellison
2. Aled de Malmanche
3. Bronson Murray / Ben May
4. Ross Filipo
5. Jason Eaton
6. Liam Messam (Co-captain)
7. Tanerau Latimer
8. Thomas Waldrom
9. Piri Weepu
10. Callum Bruce
11. Hosea Gear
12. Tamati Ellison (Co-captain)
13. Jason Kawau
14. Shannon Paku
15. Dwayne Sweeney


16. Hikawera Elliot
17. Bronson Murray / Ben May
18. Hoani MacDonald
19. Scott Waldrom
20. Chris Smylie
21. Tim Bateman
22. Zar Lawrence

Ben May is suffering from flu and has been bracketed with Bronson Murray. A decision about May’s availability will be made on match day.

Stevenson said: “Sunday’s match is crucial and whoever wins it wins the tournament and we are treating it as a final. Last week’s match against Japan gave us a lot of confidence in terms of our attacking game and knowing that Australia A pride themselves on their attack as well, we expect a good game.”

No comments: